The Two Books of God

image

     Yes, I know that there are more than two books in the picture.  We are getting ready to return to NYC.  We have gone from sea to shining sea, and will have traveled almost 11,000 miles.  I am glad we have seen the buffalo roam and the deer and the antelope play.  We have seen towering waterfalls and mountains with sides as sharp as razors.  We have walked all alone on Pacific beaches and gone along the shores of glacial lakes.  It is time to take a drink of coffee and to think.
      I’ve been told that ancient Christian tradition talks about the two books of God.  One book is the Bible, and on our travels earlier I piled the translations I carried with me next to my coffee.  The second book, according to this view, is nature.  God’s “invisible attributes…have been clearly seen…in the things that have been made,” according to Paul.  I want to know both books well.
     Well, after almost 11,000 miles, I have drunk a lot of coffee, some bad, and some remarkable.  In the next few days, I will share the top three best cups of coffee on the trip.

Taylor Field
Upside Down Leader
http://www.newhopedigital.com/index.php/2012/04/editors-column-waiting-for-upside-down-leadership/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

