You See the Most of Life Through the Smallest Window

Image

I remember hearing this quote attributed to F. Scott Fitzgerald, but I can’t find it.  It is probably second in my list of favorite quotes.  The window in the picture is about six inches wide.  The Bubba mug is the best insulator for travel coffee I have ever found.  The new book in the picture is about freedom and was just published.  All I can see through the window is a few trees in the distance, but I have enjoyed that little view of the world better than a panorama.

A lot of things are like that.  You aim for the vast panorama and when you get it, you don’t really enjoy it as much as you thought you would.  You start looking through one tiny tiny window and you start to see the universe.  People go for the vast freedoms and find themselves oppressed.  They start appreciating their finite limitations and they find this strange freedom.  That is what the book is about.  It is upside down.

Incidentally, today I had a Chemex Sumatra coffee, hand ground, roasted at a local coffee shop.  It is as good a roast as anything I have found in Manhattan or Brooklyn.  I put real cream in it and that is the secret.  There is a magic that happens between Sumatra and cream.  I am holed up in the mountains but if I told you where it was I would have to kill you.

Taylor Field

Upside Down Freedom

2 thoughts on “You See the Most of Life Through the Smallest Window

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

